LEXIE THE WORD WRANGLER by Rebecca Van Slyke, illustrated by Jessie Hartland

Lexie the Word Wrangler by Rebecca Van Slyke, illustrated by Jessie Hartland

I’ve always had a soft spot for cowgirls.  Dressing up as one and pretending to ride my pony through the yard as a kid, and now that I live in the West, immersing myself in the history of the real-world tough cowgirls of my adopted state of Oregon.  So I was immediately drawn by the title to Lexie.  Turns out this great new picture book celebrates another love of mine as well:  words.  That’s right, instead of cattle, Lexie wrestles. . .words! Wordplay, puns, word chains, and other delightful word play are all integral parts of this off-beat and funny picture book.  I especially appreciate Lexie’s determination to serve justice when someone starts messing with her words.  Perfect for the Early Readers in your life.

Leave a Reply

