Emily Recommends WILDWOOD by Colin Meloy

WildwoodWildwood by Colin Meloy

Reviewed by Emily Planck

I’ve always been afraid to read a large book that is until I read Wildwood by Colin Meloy. When I started reading Wildwood I was afraid I would never finish it. It turns out I couldn’t put it down! This book instantly had me hooked. Just the fact that it was based in Portland had me reading it non-stop. I ended up loving this book way more than I thought I would.

Prue McKeel’s life was ordinary that is until her little brother Mac got kidnaped by a murder of crows. Prue and her friend Curtis embark on a journey into the Impassable Wilderness (or the I.W.). Together they will conquer the obstacles standing in their way, Such as an army of coyotes and an evil ex-governess. Will Prue, Curtis, and Mac survive?

One reason you should read Wildwood is because of how Meloy describes the setting. I like his descriptive word choice, It really helps you picture what is happing. A quote that shows this is when Meloy writes, “The fog continued to fall away from the bridge until it polled just beneath the surface of the span, revealing the awesome edifice in its entry.” I like this quote because of the way he describes the fog makes you feel like you are there.

There are lots of books about wizards, princesses, and other things like that, that is why I like Wildwood. I have never read a book that has had a story line like wildwood does. The story is completely original, like Portland. To me this book goes with the saying “keep Portland weird” because of how unique the story is. This is just one more reason you should read Wildwood.

In the end, this book was awesome! The ending left me wanting to read the next book in the trilogy as soon as I could. If you live in Portland that is just one more reason you should read Wildwood because chances are you have probably been to some of the places Meloy talks about in his book. I would highly recommend this book to anybody. I encourage you to go to your local book store/ library and pick up this book.

***

 Several of Emily’s classmates have also allowed us to publish reviews of what they’re currently reading.  And for recommendations from kids of all ages, check out our Kids Recommend section.

Leave a Reply

