Little Red Riding Hood Revisted: SCARLET: A Review

~posted by Ruth

ScarletWe love retellings of classic tales, especially fairy tales and folk tales.  We’ve even blogged on it–check out Tellings and Retellings.    So imagine our delight at the series introduced in 2012 called The Lunar Chronicles, which debuted with the novel Cinder, a contemporary sci-fi/fantasy YA retelling of Cinderella.  Well, I loved it, and I invite you to read all about why here: Cinderella Revisited:  Cinder by Marissa Meyer

A few weeks ago, Book II in the Lunar Chronicles was published:  Scarlet.    Of course, I got my hands on it as soon as possible.  I often turn the first pages of an anticipated sequel with mixed feelings:   eager to get back into the story and read what happens next, and–if I loved it–a bit of trepidation that this book won’t live up to the first.

I won’t keep you in suspense; I love Scarlet as much as Cinder–both the main characters themselves and the novels that bear their names.  The sequel began with some surprises for me.  First, I had assumed the novel would pick up on the story of the cyborg princess, Cinder and the other characters we met in the first novel.  Don’t worry, it does–but the main story is a retelling of the Little Red Riding tale, with a new main character, Scarlet herself, whose grandmother is missing.  Scarlet soon meets Wolf, who agrees to help her search for her grandmother.  While she is drawn to him, she isn’t quite sure she can trust him.  Their paths cross, of course, with Cinder, Prince Kai, and the Lunar Queen from Book I, and the intrigue, exciting plot, and hints of romance are all there.

Now, I’m waiting for Book III–and wondering what classic tale will be at the heart of it?  Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

