April 21st – Creativity & Innovation Day

Ironically, we just spent the last month (March) looking at biographies of creative people, the creativity of musicians as kids, and the inspired creativity of our own wonder twins, Molly & Jacob.  So we have loads of recent examples of great books that celebrate creativity and innovation!

We also have a favorite series of picture books that celebrate creative and inspirational people – the Isabella and Alexander books.  It’s a great place to start if you’re looking for ways of introducing your kids to some pretty phenomenal men and women.

My Name is Not Isabella by Jennifer Fosberry, illustrated by Mike Litwin

This one celebrates amazing women.

My Name is Not Alexander by Jennifer Fosberry, illustrated by Mike Litwin

And this one (I bet you can guess…) celebrates amazing men.

Isabella: Girl on the Go by Jennifer Fosberry, illustrated by Mike Litwin

This time Isabella is exploring the world and all the places you can go and job fields that can take you there.

It’s a good way to get you thinking of women and men you’d like to tell your kids about, and places you’d love to explore one day with them.  It sparked a discussion about Katharine Hepburn and Catherine the Great for me and Molly (apparently I’ve always admired Katherines!) and inspired me to pull out my scrapbooks of Florence from my college year abroad, and I think the kids not only learned a little more about the world, but a little more about me, and we had a wonderful talk…

Leave a Reply

