2 New YA Favorite Authors

-posted by Meghan

I love discovering a new author!  New to me, that is… and this winter I’ve had two – Laini Taylor and Maggie Sitefvater.  In both cases, I read their latest books, and in both cases I was so blown away I immediately ordered their previous works, and I can’t wait to dig in.  I haven’t had a chance to read all their earlier works yet, but I can (and do) heartily recommend starting where I did- with their most recent novels.  Yes, they are both YA books, but I’d recommend them from about 12-90 year olds.

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Star crossed lovers, but more in the Romeo and Juliet tradition than the Bella and Edward (for one thing, it’s really well written, and for another, our heroine is no wimp).  Karou is wild, beautiful and mysterious – even to herself.  It seems like everyone who knows about her knows more than she does.  Like the teeth collecting monsters who are the only family she has ever known.  Or the Angel Akiva who wants to kill her, before he realizes he loves her.  That in fact, perhaps, he’s always loved her.  Even though they just met.  It’s a fascinating and well told story that feels all the more original for it’s familiar basic plot.  I can’t wait for book two!

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

If you had to compare this book to something, it’s probably the most like The Hunger Games.  It’s a dystopic (past) world, where kids end up in a fight to the death – but so do adults.  And there are these killer (literally) sea horses.  It was a book that was slow for me to get into, but once I did I was completely absorbed in the story and the heroes, Puck and Sean Kendrick.  My favorite thing about this book is how masterfully the setting and the history unfold.  The book is so slow and deliberate and you are never, never told directly who the horses are or where they come from or what the history is of the Scorpio Races.  You just get to know the characters and how they feel, and how other characters respond and react to them, and suddenly, you realize you know the whole history of the island.  I’m dying to read her Faerie and Wolves of Shiver Falls series next…

Leave a Reply

