Favorite Books

When 8th grade teacher Erin Ocon asked her students to reveal some of their favorite books, here’s what they said:  (She also asked them to share some current favorite authors…)

Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers
Are you someone who has a hard time reading?  Or finding a book you like?  If you’re saying, “that’s me” right now, then the book Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers is the book for you.  This book is short and detailed at the same time.  It’s full of excitement and easy to read.
I’m not a big fan of long books with big chapters.  That’s why I loved this book.  All it is, is notes back and forth from mother to daughter.  It’s easy to read and entertaining at the same time.  I really encourage you to read this book, because I loved it and I bet you will too.
– Alexa Fery

*

North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley

    A favorite recently read book of mine is called North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley.  It’s about true beauty, personal growth, and may just be the most quotable piece of work since Mean Girls.  One of the most popular quotes from the book is: “[True beauty] seeps into you.  It doesn’t make you forget yourself, but totally the opposite.  It connects you with everything and fills you with awe that you share the same space with something that glorious.  Like a sunrise or a clear blue day or the most extraordinary piece of glass.  And then suddenly…you have this epiphany that there’s more to the world than you and what you want or even who you are.”
The main character, Terra, has a port-wine stain (a type of birthmark) on her face her entire life, and hides behind a mask of make-up, ashamed.  Her controlling father’s disrespectful and downright rude attitude doesn’t help her insecurity, either.
Throughout the story, Terra matures and her point of view is completely changed.  She finds her True North.  It’s like she’d been seeing the world through binoculars, looking too closely and noticing small bits at a time, then the binoculars are lifted and the pieces come together.  “Flawed, we’re truly interesting, truly memorable, and yes, truly beautiful,” Terra says.
Beauty is, simply put, in the eye of the beholder.
– Amity Grindle

*

Go Ask Alice by Anonymous

My favorite book that I read this year is Go Ask Alice.  I like this book so much
because it’s all a true story of stoner-girl’s life.  I mostly enjoyed this book so much because it reminded me of my friend that went through most of the things Alice did.  Go Ask Alice is a girl’s diary turned into a book so it tells all of her secrets, thoughts, and events she went through, except that the only thing not true is the names of the people.  I would recommend this book because instead of someone doing drugs, they can read about someone who went through drugs and see how they change and how desperate they are to do drugs.  Alice goes through the biggest change or her life.  The ending is something I wouldn’t expect.  Go Ask Alice is one of my favorite books of all time and it could be one of yours too.
– Cristian Lopez

*

The Bone Series by Jeff Smith
My favorite book I’ve read would be an easy choice.  The book is the Bone series by Jeff Smith.  There are nine books in the series and I read them all.  These books are really great books to just read for fun.  I would recommend these books to anyone that likes comics and funny stories.  These books were really good because they stayed on the story’s topic and didn’t jump around.  Also, all the characters in it were well-described and fit their parts well.  These books were well-written and I would read all these books again if I had the chance to.
– Brode Bunnell

*

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney

Dear Middle School Students,
I recommend you read Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney.  It’s one of my favorite books that I read this year.  You may have heard of the movie, but the books are better because they have great detail and funny comics.  It’s about a kid starting middle school.  So in my mind, I’m thinking it should be the “Middle School Survival Guide” if they have one.  Diary of a Wimpy Kid has five books in the series.  I can say that the first two books were the kid of book you couldn’t put down.  I stayed up until 12 on a school night to finish the second book.  My favorite part of the books are the comics and how the main character thinks he’s all that and thinks he’s popular.
Incoming 7th graders should read this series because it’s about a kid starting middle school, perfect for incoming 7th middle schoolers.  I wish I read the books in 7th grade.  I would recommend it to mostly anybody who likes funny books.
Sincerely,
Theresa Khongkakoune

*

The Vladimir Tod Chronicles by Heather Brewer

    I think that Brown Middle School students and people with imaginative minds should read the Vladimir Tod Chronicles by Heather Brewer.  These books are filled with page-turning adventures of a teen growing up through his un-normal life.  Also, get this, he is half-vampire.  But a rare breed and he’s the only one of his kind.  He is full of energy and blood!  This is a great series and I recommend it to the entire world.
These are a few reasons you should read it.  It has vampires for you vampire lovers.  This series in my words is “DA BOMB!”  There are a ton of fights between Vlad and bad vampires.  Like when Vlad gets shot through the heart with a stake.  But don’t worry, he survives.  Vlad has some problems, but they are solved by his uncle, like when Vlad got injected with garlic water.  Lastly, it’s great for romance.  Even though I don’t like the romance I still read it.  Like when Vlad asks Meredith to the prom.  That’s why the world should read this series.
– Mason Still

*

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix
My favorite book is Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix.  This is a story about a world with no third children, and population police.  Luke is a third child in hiding and he lives a very hard life.  He can’t have friends, or a social life, all he can do is live in the attic.  One day Luke was curious, so he snuck out of the house and went outside and looked out and saw another third child.  So he went over and met the girl.  Her name is Jennifer, and she is also a third child in hiding.  For the first time, Luke has a friend.  The problem is the Population Police.  If they found out, both Luke and Jennifer would be killed…
So overall, there is a lot of action and suspense in this story, and this is why Among the Hidden is my favorite book.
– Eli Tenoyo

*

Among the Betrayed by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Nina is a young, average girl.  She loves hanging out with her friends and family, she has done nothing wrong in her life except for being illegal.  Nina is an illegal third child forbidden by the population police.  Trapped in a cell all alone she discovers a population police who she calls the hating man.  He then tells her that her beloved Jason has betrayed her and he also makes her a deal.  He says if she can get information out of a group of three illegal shadow children then she will not be executed but if she refuses then she will die.  Will she refuse and lose her life?  Or will she kill someone else’s life?
Among the Betrayed by Margaret Peterson Haddix is my favorite book I read this school year.  The book is filled with suspense and will keep you wondering every page you read.  Every time I read the book it gives me a picture in my head.  When I’m bored and have nothing to do I read this book, even if I already read it, it still get me excited and I want to read more.  When I tell my friends to read this book they all love it and thank me for telling them about the book.  This is my favorite book and I encourage you all to read it.
– Josh Nguyen

*

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

My favorite choice book I read was Coraline by Neil Gaiman.  I have read this book at least three times.  In my opinion, and I’m sure millions of other people’s, this book is amazing.  This book is so good for many reasons.  One of them is because of the characters.  The characters in this book are very different and all have very special personalities.  Like Coraline, she loves exploring and can’t really be bored; or one of her neighbors who has a mouse circus.
Another thing that makes me love this book is the random exciting things that happen.  Like when her other father made Coraline a huge amazing garden just because she likes them.  Or her cat at her real house follow her to the other house and it can talk.  That cat becomes her best friend.  I think people should read this because it’s a really fun book to read.  It’s also easy to understand, and it’s not too long or too short.  That is why I enjoyed this book.
– Brendan Randall

*

The Recruit by Robert Muchamore

“You what?”  James asked, thinking he hadn’t heard right.
“A spy, James.  CHERUB is part of the British Intelligence Service.”
That is a quote from my favorite book, The Recruit by Robert Muchamore, in the series Cherub.  Although I already read this book last year, I decided to read it again and I loved it just as much.  I personally liked this book because it’s very exciting.  There’s always plenty of action and humor.  It’s also very descriptive and paints a clear picture in your head.  Most of the characters in the book are fun and have distinctive personalities that you’ll love.  The Recruit also is a British novel and it shows a new and foreign place to us that’s different yet similar in many ways.  Also, it tends to be a fast and easy read.
Other people should read The Recruit because it’s never boring or slow.  Also, it’s extremely funny and has a ton of action.  It’s nearly impossible to put down and you’ll be dying for more.
– Alicia Garduño  

Leave a Reply

