Why Read: Shanaz Ahmed

Dear Students,
Reading is amazing.  I say that saying it proud.  Reading has an influence on me.  When I read I want to write.  For example, poems.  They have a beat and rhythm that come from the heart.  Reading something that special makes you want to write something like that.  My favorite poem is “The Drum” by Nikki Giovanni.  I like this poem because of the theme and meaning.  There are many great pieces of writing waiting to be enjoyed.  Go out there are read, write, learn, feel, and create.
Sincerely,
Shanaz Ahmed

The Drum
daddy says the world is
a drum tight and hard
and I told him
I’m gonna
beat out my own rhythm
– Nikki Giovanni

Leave a Reply

