Why Read: Katlyn Bivins

Dear:  Non-readers who are too lazy to read.  Yah I’m talking to you.
Yes I’ll give it to you.  I have always hated books.  My mom always said “you need to find a series you like”.  I never listened.  So it affected me by my vocabulary being poor and dull, but ever since I started reading it has gotten better.  Yes I may be too young to lecture you, but I will either way.
The first series I read was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I loved that book soooo much that I went out and bought the next two books, Catching Fire and Mocking Jay.  I was so sad when it ended.  Then I found the Vampire Academy series, by Richelle Mead.  The series consists of six books, Vampire Academy, Frost Bite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound, and last but not least, Last Sacrifice.
You should also read because it sparks ideas in your imagination.  Ever since I started reading my mind has been flooded with ideas.  So I decided to take after my favorite authors and write my own book.  Who knows, it could be published one day.  The more reading I do, the more pieces of ideas get put together.
Another reason to read is because you can.  You just can.  I’m not the one to judge, but if you don’t read you could be stupid forever.  Reading makes you smart.  Then, you can graduate high school, go to college, graduate and get a really great job.  Then, raise a family and retire a happy life.
If you have a favorite book then it could be turned into a movie one day.  Like the Hunger Games.  They are filming it right now.  Maybe even one day your job could be the writer and producer of a hit TV show, and if you don’t read you won’t have juicy words to make the viewers love your show.
Again, I’m not the one to judge or lecture you, but I ask you to take my scattered advice and, just read.
Sincerely,
Kit-Kat
Katlyn Bivins

Leave a Reply

