Why Read: Kaitlan Gantt

Dear Fellow Students,
Sorry was that too formal?  Let me start over.
************************************************************************
Dear sleeping kids who can’t wait for summer,
Reading can really change your life.  You may not know it, but sometimes reading a good book can help you get through the tough times in life.  My favorite book is Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul.  This book has really made an impact on my life because everything that’s in it is 100 % true.  Whenever I feel like there’s nothing good happening in my life, I read some of the stories that people pour their heart into.
One story in this book really makes me think that I’m not the only one hurting.  A bunch of people have problems, but they get over them.  The story inside Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul is called “Kelsey”.  It’s written by a boy named Shane Ruwe.  He and his sister, Kelsey, were really close and one day, something tragic happened.  Kelsey and Dakota (the youngest brother) begged their mom to go to the public pool.  A little while later, there was a call from someone at the pool saying that there was an accident.  Kelsey had been caught in the pool drain and when paramedics came, they couldn’t pull her out.  Kelsey was underwater for about twenty-five minutes.  When they finally got her out, the paramedics rushed her to a hospital, but she had a faint pulse so Kelsey was then rushed to Children’s Mercy Hospital where she stayed on life support.  Kelsey was weak; after two days, Kelsey passed away.  Knowing that Shane went through this and still went on with his life, helps me realize that many people have it worse than I do.
Chicken Soup for the Preteen Soul has helped me get through so much.  I love this book and hopefully when you read this, you will enjoy reading too.
– Kaitlan Gantt

Leave a Reply

