Why Read: Eleana Dan

Dear People of the Universe,

I’ve got something important to tell you. If you don’t want to know what it is, please stop wasting my time by reading this letter. There, now that we got that, I’ll tell you the important something. It’s that people should read books more. No, not picture books, actual chapter books. “Why?” is probably what you’re thinking, and I’ll tell you why. In the past they had higher expectations for education, but they have eventually gotten lower and lower, when actually you need to at least know how to read and write to get a job. Yes, reading isn’t for everyone, but it can broaden your view of the world and people around you. It did for me at least. I have the reading level of a college student, but I didn’t start out that way. When I started to learn how to read and write, I didn’t follow the writing with a book mark or a finger, and I read very slowly because I hated reading. Up till third grade I had to go to a “special” group to get better at reading. Slowly, but surely, I started to love reading, but I still had a hard time. Eventually I got glasses, and started to notice I had problems remembering things. In the summer before sixth grade, the eye doctor said something I didn’t want to hear. She said my tracking ability with my eyes is about as good as a two year old’s, and the reason why I can’t remember things I see or read is because there might be a disconnection between my eyes and my brain. Plus, she was surprised I could even remember titles of books. But this just made my enthusiasm bigger for books. I read more and more, which drove my family insane. The books drove the pain away, they let me imagine things that are said to be impossible. While I read them I would forget my surroundings. My hope is that everyone could feel like I do when I read.

Sincerely,

A girl in the universe

Eleana Dan

Leave a Reply

