Joe Recommends THE LIGHTNING THIEF

Eighth grader Joe Famme from Hillsboro, Oregon recommends. . .

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Have you ever imagined a god being so serious, and so strict to tradition, wearing leather sandals, Khaki Bermuda shorts, and a Tommy Bahama shirt with coconuts and parrots all over it? No, you probably haven’t, but in the book The Lightning Thief, the author not only describes the Gods so peculiarly, but he also writes an excellent book which in my opinion brings you in a whole different world, especially when the author describes the settings.

Over the past few years, Percy Jackson has been kicked out of every school he’s attended. It’s not like he wanted to be kicked out, it’s just bad things always seemed to follow him. But it’s no coincidence; he’s being watched. Fortunately, the school year’s ended, and Percy is about to embark on one of the greatest journeys, one he couldn’t even imagine. A journey that includes Raging Minotaur’s, ferocious monsters, family, fighting Olympian Gods, heroes, villains, satyrs, and Oracles that tell you double meanings.

Obviously, there are many reasons to read The Lightning Thief. But I have chosen these three reasons particularly because these are the main things that I loved about the book. Which are, the writing style, how the author places ancient Greek mythology into modern day life, and how the settings are described with so much emotion.

First of all, I love how the author writes his book. Especially since it’s from Percy’s perspective, which I really like since whenever something terrible happens to him he always makes a remark that lightens the mood and makes it funny and entertaining. For example, when Percy fights the Minotaur, he describes the Minotaur as – “He wore no clothes except underwear – I mean, bright white fruit of the looms – Which would’ve looked funny, except that the top half of his body was so scary.”

Second of all, The Lightning Thief is set in modern day life. This is a huge part of why this book is different and entertaining. For example, if the book was set in ancient times during the Greek days, it wouldn’t be as entertaining and different as it would be in modern day life. An example of this modern day Greece is how the Gods dress. They didn’t dress in any robes or anything; they dressed according to their attribute or symbol.

Thirdly, my favorite part about The Lightning Thief is how the author describes the settings. When the author describes the settings he puts so much emotion into the description. I can really feel what the characters are feeling. The best example of this is when Percy and his friends enter the Lotus Hotel. This hotel is a hotel of confusion; it just feels like you’re going crazy. While I was reading this chapter, I felt like I was going crazy like Percy, and it felt like no matter how hard I tried, my eyes wouldn’t focus. I was so tuned out. I just love how the author describes the setting so well that you literally feel what the characters feel.

Ultimately, I really feel that anyone can read this book. It has great writing style, humorous modern description of the Olympian Gods, and the settings were so well described with emotion that I literally felt everything the characters felt. No matter what kind of reader you are, somehow your mind will adapt to the book The Lightning Thief.

~~~

Several of Joe’s classmates have also allowed us to publish reviews of what they’re currently reading.  And if you take Joe up on his recommendation and read The Lightning Thief and you like it as much as he did (we did too), you may want to check out some of our other favorite series (The Percy Jackson series is on it!).

One Response to Joe Recommends THE LIGHTNING THIEF

  1. Meghan says:

    Joe, I loved this series too. My favorite thing about your review is how you said he made you feel like you were going crazy like Percy, and no matter how hard you tried your eyes wouldn’t focus. That’s how I felt and one of the things I loved about the book too- but I didn’t even realize that’s what it was I loved until you articulated it. Thanks for helping me think about the book- again and differently!

Leave a Reply

