For the Easter Basket…

-posted by Meghan

So, we don’t really have a list of great Easter books to recommend.  Mostly because neither of us is very religious, and Easter books tend to be either fairly Jesus heavy, or kind of doofy with big bunnies giving out candy (true confession- part of my lack of interest in Easter books may come from the Easter nature of my current least favorite book, Max’s Chocolate Chicken, which thankfully, my kids have finally lost interest in!!!).   Last year we recommended our favorite new spring books, and if you haven’t read them, they are still two of the best books for young kids in the last few years.

This year, we thought we’d highlight some books we’re SUPER excited about that did/will come out this spring and would be perfect for your favorite little reader’s Easter baskets…


Ladybug Girl at the Beach by Jackie Davis, illustrated by David Soman

Yay Ladybug Girl!  We love her, and can’t wait to see what she’s up to for the summer…

*

Fancy Nancy: Poet Extraordinaire! by Jane O’connor, illustrated by Robin Preiss Glasser

I have to admit that the Fancy Nancy’s are coming a bit fast and furious for me, but as both a poetry fan and a writer who has had trouble with good ideas, this is sooooo up my alley that I can’t wait to read it- both for me and to the kids!

*

Flanimals Pop-Up by Ricky Gervais, illustrated by Rob Steen

Ricky Gervais?  I’m in.  Goofy pop up?  The kids are in.  ‘Nuff said.

*

Instructions by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Charles Vess

Neil Gaiman.  Fairy Tales.  Beautiful illustrations. And a product description that reads “Trust dreams.  Trust your heart, and trust your story.”  That’s  all we need to know. . .

*

The Heart and the Bottle by Oliver Jeffers

We discovered Jeffers with Lost and Found, but truly lost our hearts to him with The Incredible Book-Eating Boy.  (Molly’s current favorite book.)  I can’t wait for this one.

*

Cat the Cat, Who Is That? by Mo Willems

It’s not Pigeon or Elephany & Piggie, but any new Willems is cause for a stampede to the library at our house!

*

Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown by Jarrett Krosoczka

Again, this is one of our current favorite authors!  It’s so exciting that they all seem to have books out this spring.  The Lunch Lady series is one of his three-tone graphic novels for kids slightly older that mine (maybe 2-4th grade), so currently these are books I enjoy for the kids, and save to read to them later…

*

The Time Pirate: A Nick McIver Time Adventure by Ted Bell

The sequel to Nick of Time is out, and even though this series is aimed at tween boys, I find that I enjoy it as well, and am looking forward to this book.  (But I’m a sucker for series- I just have to know “what happens next.”  The reviews for this installment aren’t as kind as for the first, to give you fair warning.)

2 Responses to For the Easter Basket…

  1. famillejt says:

    Just an hour ago, the postman delivered The Heart and the Bottle to me…
    It is a *lovely* story. Certainly stole my heart.
    I’ll have to see how my girls respond to it though – with its themes of death and loss, and lots of metaphors I wonder if it will be such a hit with kids as his earlier books.

  2. rosefamily says:

    Oh, I’m so glad to hear it! I can’t wait to read it. I’m still debating which of the books I want I should just go for it and buy and sneak in the basket, and which I need to nudge the library to get. Do you think it’s appropriate for 3 year olds?

Leave a Reply

