A Book I Don’t Like

-posted by Meghan

“This is not a novel to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force.” ~Dorothy Parker

I don’t like to be negative, in general.  In particular, I don’t want to be negative about books, which is a form of art and entertainment and education that I cherish.  But every once and a while there’s a book that just raises your hackles.  Sometimes, it’s a book that gets undue worship and praise (ahem, Twilight).  Sometimes it’s a book that you want to like so much, but it derails (the new Audrey Niffenegger) or never finds it’s footing (A Great and Terrible Beauty).

And sometimes it’s just a book you don’t like, and firmly believe should be thrown with great force.  And that’s a difficult thing to do when it’s a book your kids love.  I find that it helps me get over something if I vent, so pardon me, but I’m going to take an opportunity to tell you about a book I hate right now:

Max’s Chocolate Chicken by Rosemary Wells.  In general, I’m not a big Rosemary Wells fan.  It’s one of the kids series that children truly love, and I truly don’t get (Maisy being another).  But the Chocolate Chicken is an exceptionally silly book, and what makes me crazy is that my almost 3-year old twins LOVE it.  I have to read that book 15 times in a row (literally- those of you with experience with three year-olds know this is NOT an exaggeration) every single day, week in and week out.  I tried hiding the book and pretending I couldn’t find it, but they cried ’til I magically managed to find it.  It’s one of those things you do because you love someone so desperately, you’d do anything for them.  And now, having vented my spleen, I feel purged and ready to pick up that nauseating book once again, as soon as nap-time ends.

(My little monkeys reading books I do approve of!)

Don’t leave me feeling like a terrible Mom.  Let me know that you’re there with me, and that there are books that you read aloud just to please the kids in your life…

2 Responses to A Book I Don’t Like

  1. famillejt says:

    Hi Meghan,

    I absolutely get where you’re coming from! I too have never got Maisy and yet she’s an enormous hit here. Another book that my kids love which I would like to make disappears is Snow Bear by Piers Harper (which I reviewed here: http://www.playingbythebook.net/2010/01/18/polar-play/ ). And then there are the books which I think are fantastic but which my girls don’t go for – that always makes me sad too. But fortunately mostly we have lots of fun reading together as I’m sure you do too!

  2. rosefamily says:

    I totally agree about Maisy! My kids love her- especially when they show the “Maisy movies” at library storytime. Ugh. But you know, hang in there on the books they don’t like that that you love- already at 3, I’m seeing them return to books they ignored that I had thought would be huge hits. It almost makes up for the Maisy and Max books- almost!

Leave a Reply

