Favorite Bunnies…

-posted by Meghan

Just in time for Easter, I thought I’d share with you the two favorite bunnies in our house right now: Bugs and Peter!

I have been a lifelong fan of Peter Rabbit, and planning some fun activities for our family Easter weekend, I found a local egg hunt, which they call Peter Rabbit Day.  I like that, because everyone can take part in the celebration, no matter their religion, and because it reminded me to pull out my old copy of the Beatrix Potter classic.  It’s been in heavy rotation on the reading list in our house this week, and if you haven’t read it lately, I’d encourage you to put it on yours!  (And while you’re at it, find Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle.  I love her too!)

While I went to the bookshelf for my rabbit inspiration, my husband went to YouTube.  My kids have recently discovered Donald Duck, and love him.  My husband was more of a Bugs fan than a Mickey fan as a kid, so he promptly found “The Rabbit of Seville” and watched that with them.  They love it!

So which rabbit do the kids themselves prefer?  That’s easy – The Easter Bunny.  Because he’s the only one who brings chocolate!

How about you?  Who are your favorite literary bunnies?  The Velveteen Rabbit?  The Runaway Bunny?  Pat the Bunny? Max and Ruby (my personal least faves)?  Do tell…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

